Chocolate Weetbix Slice

Don't tell them it's healthy!

Don’t tell them it’s healthy!

If you are after something truly decadent….. this probably isn’t for you! But…. if you or your kids have a sweet tooth and prefer something a little healthier than most chocolate slices then this is a perfect slice for you! (It is a favourite in our house!) It is lower in fat and not too high in sugar. (Also egg free and you could make it dairy free too!) This is a wonderful lunchbox treat or afternoon tea snack! Feel free to share this recipe!

Note: this is not a sweet slice, just perfect for lunch boxes and every kid I have served them to has loved them! But if you prefer a sweeter slice, add a little more sugar or use brown sugar!

Yibba Yabba Mama’s Chocolate Weetbix Slice

Ingredients:
4 finely crushed weetbix/vitabrits
1/3 cup of cocoa powder
3 Tablespoons of melted butter/margarine or dairy free spread
1 cup of plain flour (wholemeal flour works very well here!)
1/3 cup of sugar (I always use brown sugar, but any type will be fine)
1/2 cup of desiccated coconut
1/3 cup of water
(*If you want to make this healthier…you could use coconut oil instead of butter, use honey instead of sugar and use wholemeal flour. You could even add in sultanas or other dried fruit. Thanks to my readers for the suggestions!)

Method:
1. Mix the crushed weetbix, cocoa and melted butter together in a bowl until well combined.

2. Add in the remaining dry ingredients and stir well.

Add in the dry ingredients

Add in the dry ingredients

3. Slowly add the water until all ingredients are well combined.

Pour in the water and mix!

Pour in the water and mix!

4. Press into a paper lined slice tin. (I make sure I have the paper hanging over the edge to make it easy to remove) Make sure you press it in quite firmly. (I use a regular slice tin approx. 18cm x 28cm)

Press in firmly using your hands

Press in firmly using your hands

5. Bake in a moderate oven for 15 mins. The slice will be quite soft, but will harden slightly as it cools. (If you leave it longer, it will make a crunchier slice, which some people prefer!)

6. Allow to stand in the tin for 5 mins. While still hot, spread chocolate icing on top (recipe below) and sprinkle with extra coconut or hundreds and thousands!

Spread with chocolate icing. You can top with sprinkles or more coconut.

Spread with chocolate icing. You can top with sprinkles or more coconut.

7. Allow to cool in the tin. Carefully lift the slice out and cut into small squares.

Sliced and ready to eat or freeze for later!

Sliced and ready to eat or freeze for later!

Store in an air tight container for 3 to 4 days. This recipe will freeze well. I cut this slice into squares and put the whole lot into a ziplock bag and into the freezer, ready for the lunch boxes.

*Use any chocolate icing. Here is my recipe:
1. Mix 1 cup of icing sugar with 2 Tablespoons of cocoa powder. Mix in 1 Tablespoon of melted butter/margarine or dairy free spread.
2. Slowly add a small amount of milk/soy or water until you have a nice pouring icing consistency.

Go on…give it a try! Your kids will love it!

P.S. If you love weetbix recipes…try this one: Cranberry Weetbix Slice! Recipe here: https://yibbayabbamama.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/cranberry-weetbix-slice/

Yummy!

Yummy!

35 thoughts on “Chocolate Weetbix Slice

  1. Cobie

    Hello, I’m ready to make this slice, but could you tell me how many serves it will make as I would like to work out the Weight Watchers points per serve. Thanks Cobie

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Good question! I usually make this for my kids so I cut it up into 16 squares. I use a regular sized slice pan and then keep cutting it until I have enough squares! Sometimes I have made it into 20 smaller slices too! Is this answer helpful? Let me know if I can help! Please tell me how many points you work this out to be, so I can add this to the recipe to help others! Hope you enjoy it! xx Val

      Reply
      1. Cobie

        Thanks for your quick reply.
        I will work it out now as I need to weigh all the ingredients.
        Will get back to you..

      2. Cobie Henny

        Hello again,
        I’m about to get this slice in the oven, as I’ve worked out the WW points as follows.20 pieces equals 2 points a piece
        16 pieces equals 3 points a piece.
        That’s pretty good!
        Thanks.
        Cobie.

        Ps.. That includes the icing on top.

        Sent from my iPad

      3. yibbayabba Post author

        Wow! That is a great points allowance! Thank you for passing on that information to me, I am sure lots of mummies will be able to enjoy the slice more now, knowing that it is on the friendlier side! It really has very little fat and sugar, so I am happy for the kids to eat it and for me to snack on too, even my hubby enjoys this slice! Thank you again, hope you enjoy it!

  2. Llangibby Dale

    except if you are counting the fat content and you are basically looking at 5.5 grams of fat per slice if you cut it into about 20 squares so beware!

    Reply
    1. Llangibby Dale

      Apologies, I made an error in calculating as I thought 1 tablespoon of butter was about 25 grams of fat and it is only 11.52 grams of fat. Makes it look a little more appealing now.

      Reply
      1. yibbayabba Post author

        Thank you for clarifying! Most slice recipes of this size use at least 125g of butter, so this one is a whole lot better! (Certainly not fat free, but it needs a little butter to make the weetbix palatable in this slice) Perhaps you will give this a try then? I am quite happy with this recipe, I made it specifically for my kids, I wanted something suitable for their lunchboxes and so it had to have less fat and less sugar. My family love this, hope you do too.

  3. Annie Bourne

    Hi there, I’ve just found out that I’m intolerant to a lot of foods and am looking at substituting the butter/marg /dairy free spread for coconut oil. Do you think that 3 tbspn coconut oil would be the correct ratio?
    Thanks

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Hi there, that ratio should be fine. Using that measurement will make the slice moist, but still lower in fat than most slices. Just give it a go….and please let me know! The coconut oil will certainly give it a lovely flavour!

      Reply
  4. Carly

    My mum has made this slice since I was a kid, now my kids make it, it’s so easy! We make it dairy free as we have allergies and it’s just as good! It doesn’t last very long in our house!

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That is great, I love that your kids can still enjoy this favourite…despite their allergies! This slice never lasts long in our house either, I have to freeze it straight away…so hubby and I don’t eat the lot! Thank you for stopping by my blog/Facebook page! I hope you find more recipes and lunch box ideas here.

      Reply
  5. Jodie

    Are you able to please advise what size tin you used? Also, would this be ok without the icing? Finally, do you think it would be ok to substitute the sugar for Natvia (natural sweetener made from stevia)? Thanks.

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Hi, I use a regular sized slice pan. (Perhaps 17.5 x 27.5 approx?) Substituting the sugar with Natvia will be fine. As for no icing…not sure really? I always use icing, but not very much at all. (Perhaps about half of my recipe) Sometimes I drizzle it on lightly, kind of like a criss cross drizzle so that there is some icing..it is not a sweet Slice and my kids love a bit of icing! It may be a little dry without the icing, but see how you go! Let me know what you think! Thank you for stopping by my blog/Facebook page.

      Reply
  6. Michelle

    Hi there
    We make a weetbix slice:
    115g butter
    1/2 c sugar
    1 tbsp golden syrup

    Melt in a pot

    Add 1 c flor, t sp baking powder and 2-3 weetbix.

    Mix and put into a tin and bake at 180 degrees Celcius. Ice with chocolate icing.

    We normally double the mix and use 5 weetbix.

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That sounds easy and very, very yummy! So many of us have a weetbix recipe that used to be mum’s or gran’s etc! I had one from long ago and my kids loved it…I just wanted to make a new one that would be more suitable for the lunch box so I played around with reducing the sugar and butter etc. Your recipe sounds great, love the golden syrup, that would be yummy! Thank you for the suggestion and for stopping by my blog/Facebook page.

      Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Hi…yes this is desiccated coconut. I should have specified that, my apologies! I will have to fix that one up! You could also use shredded coconut on top of the icing, if you like. I usually only have desiccated in my pantry. Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That does sound yummy, the sultanas would add some sweetness and make the slice a little chewy. Great idea! thanks for sharing! Thank you for stopping by my blog/Facebook page!

      Reply
  7. Mumof4!

    Made these today with two of my children but replaced the butter with coconut oil and the sugar with honey. Makes them healthier and even less guilt! Had to stick to icing sugar for the icing though. Don’t have an alternative for the same result there yet! But they were great! Love recipes for kids that make them feel like they’re getting a treat! The coconut oil and honey were perfect healthy alternatives!

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That sounds lovely! The coconut oil would have added a nice flavour too. Yes, you are right about more options to make it healthier, I guess this recipe is just a start for many of us! Thanks for the tips.

      Reply
  8. Mumof4!

    My next thing to swap would be the plain flour for a healthier option, wholemeal atleast, but not bleached white flour.
    Thanks for the recipe, its great!

    Reply
  9. christine mcleod

    Y
    yes have a very old recipe passed down from my mum but like this less butter and sugar will cook this tomorrow am sure my grandkids will love it

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Hi there!
      Yes, substitute equal parts of coconut oil for butter. The coconut gives this slice a beautiful taste! I suggest you use a little less honey, just slightly less. The mixture will seem more moist, but will be fine once you bake it. Let me know how you go! Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply
  10. Kelly

    I made a choc icing using cacao , maple syrup , rice malt syrup and coconut oil touch of salt makes a lovely choc ganache

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That sounds lovely! A wonderful alternative to icing! Thanks so much for sharing this, I am sure many readers will love this! I haven’t been able to offer any alternative, thanks so much!

      Reply
  11. Susy

    Hi, I have a tub of left over bottom of the box crushed up weetbix, your recipe says 4 weetbix, do you know approx in cup measurement the 4 weetbix make so I can use up all my leftovers 🙂
    Thanks

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      Hi there!
      Just under a cup of weetbix will be equal to 4 weetbix! The recipe works best when you crush them up as finely as you can! This is a great recipe to use up left overs! Hope you enjoy it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

