Perfect Pikelets

I LOVE pikelets! I think they are perfect for guests of all ages, parties, snacks and even for the lunch box! (And…these freeze well!)

Here is my recipe for perfect pikelets; I’m not sure where I got this recipe from as I had it written down on a scrap piece of paper from many years ago! My recipe has a tiny amount of sugar and no fat – perfect for kids and adults too!

My favourite...pikelets with lemon and sugar

My favourite…pikelets with lemon and sugar

Perfect Pikelets Recipe

Ingredients:
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla essence
3/4 cup of milk (light, soy or whatever!)
1 cup self raising flour
1 tablespoon of caster sugar
(You can also add in half a cup of frozen or fresh berries or a small grated apple…yummy!)

Method:
1. Whisk the egg, milk and vanilla in a bowl.

Whisk egg, milk and vanilla

Whisk egg, milk and vanilla

2. Add the sugar and flour and gently whisk together.
(If adding in fruit, add it now)

Add in the sugar and flour

Add in the sugar and flour

3. Heat a non stick pan – medium heat (see my note below!) and using a tablespoon measuring scoop, add one scoop of the mix at a time onto the hot pan. Depending on the size of your pan you will be able to cook several pikelets at a time. (Allow room for spreading and flipping)

Use a measuring scoop for perfectly round pikelets!

Use a measuring scoop for perfectly round pikelets!

4. Cook each pikelet for 30 secs to one minute (or when you see bubbles rising to the top) and gently flip each pikelet over and cook for another 30 secs or until brown.

Pikelets are ready to flip when you see lots of bubbles!

Pikelets are ready to flip when you see lots of bubbles!

Serve with your favourite topping: jam and cream, sugar and lemon juice, golden syrup or maple syrup……yummy!

Note: I think perfect pikelets is all about getting the pan the right temperature! For some reason (??????) my first pikelet is never that great! So, I only cook one first and chuck it! By then, the pan seems to have heated properly and I make several at a time. I guess it is trial and error with not burning or undercooking!

This recipe is yummy…give it a go! (Don’t be put off by the minimal sugar- your toppings will make them sweet enough!

What do you have on your pikelets?

2 thoughts on “Perfect Pikelets

  1. Suzanne

    I put dried fruit (sultanas, cranberries, apple or combination) in mine and only need to have butter if that on them…yum!

    Reply
    1. yibbayabba Post author

      That is yummy! That would make a great lunch box addition too, My kids love fresh blueberries in them too….mmmm might have to make some today! Thank you for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

